2

Author Topic: Fallout New Vegas help  (Read 3833 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Quantum Vagina

  • Guest
Fallout New Vegas help
« on: November 25, 2015, 08:54:04 AM »
Ok! So, I've been messing around with Fallout NV, since my desire to play it has been driving me crazy. I deleted all the files for it on my PC, the ones from AppData and My Documents, even the Nexus Mod Manager files relating to it. After this completely clean install, I checked it twice, and after backing up the folder for my .ini files, I installed NVSE. NVSE isn't giving me problems with starting the game, which is perfect, and is exactly what I want. I install the updated 4GB loader for New Vegas, and it'll start the game up fine, will take me to the menus. Great.

Here's the problem: I continue to crash after the Intro movie. I've placed the d3d9.dll in my install folder, I've even tried two versions of it. I went through and deleted the lines in the .ini to show the movie. I deleted the movie file. NOTHING. I went through and ran the DX installer that is downloaded with the game, to ensure that I have all the necessary files to run it. No dice.

My Google-fu is reaching the end of it's limits. Most people fix the problem after trying the d3d9.dll fix. It worked for me when I first played the game, so I was understandably frustrated when it didn't work this time. I tried the alternate solutions that people suggested, and no go. I'm completely stumped, and am curious if anyone here has had similar issues with the game. The ONLY difference I can think of with this install vs my original install is that the original install was to another hard drive that's since become useless as anything but file storage, so I can't try installing over there. I've looked up compatibility with my GPU, but since I've played the game before without any issues, I'm having a hard time believing that it's a GPU issue. Maybe a graphics card update is causing the problem, but I can't recall the last GPU driver update, so I don't know if it's still the same driver version I had or not.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Specs

AMD FX-8350 4.00 GHz 8 core
AMD Radeon HD 6970
16 GB of DDR3 RAM
Win 7 64 bit


Offline SJP

  • The FBI Pays Me to Surf
  • *
  • Posts: 2822
  • Liked: 210
  • Worst...avatar...ever!
Re: Fallout New Vegas help
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2015, 10:02:48 AM »
I'm not familiar with New Vegas on the PC (I have it for the PS3), but I had a somewhat similar issue with one the Sherlock Holmes game on the PC.   My computer had the nVidia PhysX engine updated to the latest version, and for some reason the game HATED the updated edition, and the game would freeze solid if I tried to run it.

I know it's a different problem since you've got AMD gear, but since both companies have been sort of aping each other's features for a long time, it could very well be a graphical update incompatibility.  My game fixed when I uninstalled PhysX and installed the version that came with the game, so you might want to try uninstalling and installing an older video card driver.  It sucks, but it might be what will fix it.

From what I've noticed, for all the updates and patches that are made to computers and software, the video card drivers seem to be the most notorious for making old games incompatible after an update.
One Man Band Riffs.  18 riffs, over 600 served, since 2009.


Offline d00hickey

  • The FBI Pays Me to Surf
  • *
  • Posts: 2514
  • Liked: 478
  • Rohan Stan the Jelly Man
Re: Fallout New Vegas help
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2015, 10:07:47 AM »
I have an idea to try but not certain it will help. Install the game to a different drive than C, or outside of program files in a custom Steam root, Give all launcher and exe files administrative privileges, Launch the game as administrator, once game is running Ctrl+Alt+Del, go to task manager, go to the Details tab, find the game running, right click and select "set affinity" deselect all CPU cores and select CPU 1 as the only one and press OK. If it works you'll need to set the affinity after launch every time you launch.

Gambryo/Creation engine games have issues with many multi-core processors and limiting the game to a single core frequently fixes many of the issues (FO3 and NV really only use one core anyway). This is how I had to run Fallout 3 on my system. There is a Config file where you can get the game to set affinity automatically but I can't remember how to do that.


Edit: also make sure to the run the game vanilla with no mods at first.

I hope this works for you, denial of Fallout is a fate no one deserves. 
« Last Edit: November 25, 2015, 10:09:59 AM by d00hickey »


Quantum Vagina

  • Guest
Re: Fallout New Vegas help
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2015, 11:15:57 AM »
I have an idea to try but not certain it will help. Install the game to a different drive than C, or outside of program files in a custom Steam root, Give all launcher and exe files administrative privileges, Launch the game as administrator, once game is running Ctrl+Alt+Del, go to task manager, go to the Details tab, find the game running, right click and select "set affinity" deselect all CPU cores and select CPU 1 as the only one and press OK. If it works you'll need to set the affinity after launch every time you launch.

Gambryo/Creation engine games have issues with many multi-core processors and limiting the game to a single core frequently fixes many of the issues (FO3 and NV really only use one core anyway). This is how I had to run Fallout 3 on my system. There is a Config file where you can get the game to set affinity automatically but I can't remember how to do that.


Edit: also make sure to the run the game vanilla with no mods at first.

I hope this works for you, denial of Fallout is a fate no one deserves.

Do you mean that I should run the game sans NVSE and 4GB loader first?


Offline d00hickey

  • The FBI Pays Me to Surf
  • *
  • Posts: 2514
  • Liked: 478
  • Rohan Stan the Jelly Man
Re: Fallout New Vegas help
« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2015, 11:20:06 AM »
I have an idea to try but not certain it will help. Install the game to a different drive than C, or outside of program files in a custom Steam root, Give all launcher and exe files administrative privileges, Launch the game as administrator, once game is running Ctrl+Alt+Del, go to task manager, go to the Details tab, find the game running, right click and select "set affinity" deselect all CPU cores and select CPU 1 as the only one and press OK. If it works you'll need to set the affinity after launch every time you launch.

Gambryo/Creation engine games have issues with many multi-core processors and limiting the game to a single core frequently fixes many of the issues (FO3 and NV really only use one core anyway). This is how I had to run Fallout 3 on my system. There is a Config file where you can get the game to set affinity automatically but I can't remember how to do that.


Edit: also make sure to the run the game vanilla with no mods at first.

I hope this works for you, denial of Fallout is a fate no one deserves.

Do you mean that I should run the game sans NVSE and 4GB loader first?

If that's vanilla than yes, that's how I would trouble shoot. The only reason is to eliminate any variables. Keeping the game outside of program files and running as administrator should avoid a lot of the scripting errors associated with mods though.


Quantum Vagina

  • Guest
Re: Fallout New Vegas help
« Reply #5 on: November 25, 2015, 12:09:19 PM »
I have an idea to try but not certain it will help. Install the game to a different drive than C, or outside of program files in a custom Steam root, Give all launcher and exe files administrative privileges, Launch the game as administrator, once game is running Ctrl+Alt+Del, go to task manager, go to the Details tab, find the game running, right click and select "set affinity" deselect all CPU cores and select CPU 1 as the only one and press OK. If it works you'll need to set the affinity after launch every time you launch.

Gambryo/Creation engine games have issues with many multi-core processors and limiting the game to a single core frequently fixes many of the issues (FO3 and NV really only use one core anyway). This is how I had to run Fallout 3 on my system. There is a Config file where you can get the game to set affinity automatically but I can't remember how to do that.


Edit: also make sure to the run the game vanilla with no mods at first.

I hope this works for you, denial of Fallout is a fate no one deserves.

Do you mean that I should run the game sans NVSE and 4GB loader first?

If that's vanilla than yes, that's how I would trouble shoot. The only reason is to eliminate any variables. Keeping the game outside of program files and running as administrator should avoid a lot of the scripting errors associated with mods though.

All those mods do is make it so the game is runnable on newer systems.


Quantum Vagina

  • Guest
Re: Fallout New Vegas help
« Reply #6 on: November 25, 2015, 12:48:39 PM »
I have an idea to try but not certain it will help. Install the game to a different drive than C, or outside of program files in a custom Steam root, Give all launcher and exe files administrative privileges, Launch the game as administrator, once game is running Ctrl+Alt+Del, go to task manager, go to the Details tab, find the game running, right click and select "set affinity" deselect all CPU cores and select CPU 1 as the only one and press OK. If it works you'll need to set the affinity after launch every time you launch.

Gambryo/Creation engine games have issues with many multi-core processors and limiting the game to a single core frequently fixes many of the issues (FO3 and NV really only use one core anyway). This is how I had to run Fallout 3 on my system. There is a Config file where you can get the game to set affinity automatically but I can't remember how to do that.


Edit: also make sure to the run the game vanilla with no mods at first.

I hope this works for you, denial of Fallout is a fate no one deserves.

I did try this, still had the same problem. It feels like it's an issue of not wanting to load into the game world. Maybe I'll try transferring one of my old saves in and seeing if I can load it.

EDIT:Trying an old save didn't help.
« Last Edit: November 25, 2015, 12:51:08 PM by Lawful_Cupcake »


Offline Parker_Hylton

  • Big Montana
  • *****
  • Posts: 712
  • Liked: 11
Re: Fallout New Vegas help
« Reply #7 on: November 25, 2015, 12:53:33 PM »
The only problems I ever had with Fallout 3 and New Vegas were that it would refuse to run on all integrated Intel chips, even the ones that were powerful enough to run it.  Your video card certainly shouldn't have that issue though.  The only advice I could offer is asking Steam for help.  They typically don't do anything USEFUL, and take a while to respond, but if you get a tech that's been around a few years they might have experienced a rash of the same issues that they have a workaround for.


Quantum Vagina

  • Guest
Re: Fallout New Vegas help
« Reply #8 on: November 25, 2015, 01:03:52 PM »
I'm just majorly annoyed because I can't understand why it's not working when it did before. Maybe there's just something on the drive that it doesn't like. No idea. I can't put it on the other one, it just plain won't work if I do. That drive is all but dead. Can't download to it. Maybe I could transfer the files and have steam discover it, but I don't know. Seems iffy. The reason I ran the DX9 installer was because I thought maybe DX9 had been on the old drive, but at this point it definitely isn't. I'll try contacting Steam, but I'm not sure what good it'll do. In the mean time, I'll try posting on the Nexus forums about it.

This is really making me miss the Minions, since they always were there to help me, and there were so many of them that they'd seen almost every issue. Now I don't have that on demand support T_T


Offline d00hickey

  • The FBI Pays Me to Surf
  • *
  • Posts: 2514
  • Liked: 478
  • Rohan Stan the Jelly Man
Re: Fallout New Vegas help
« Reply #9 on: November 26, 2015, 02:44:21 AM »
I would bet you would have better luck contacting Bethesda.

http://help.bethesda.net/


Quantum Vagina

  • Guest
Re: Fallout New Vegas help
« Reply #10 on: November 28, 2015, 11:44:49 AM »
Well, I've sent Bethesda a help request. Hopefully something will come of it, but idk. I feel like they'll be more concerned with FO4 issues for people.


Offline d00hickey

  • The FBI Pays Me to Surf
  • *
  • Posts: 2514
  • Liked: 478
  • Rohan Stan the Jelly Man
Re: Fallout New Vegas help
« Reply #11 on: November 30, 2015, 10:57:33 PM »
Well, I've sent Bethesda a help request. Hopefully something will come of it, but idk. I feel like they'll be more concerned with FO4 issues for people.

It's always worth a try. It may also be a good excuse to do maintenance and a clean OS install.

I have had all kinds of annoying PC problems today. This morning I had a heck of a time getting Black Ops 3 running without hitching. I can't even remember how I fixed it.

Then earlier tonight Just Cause 3 released and it's giving me all kinds of headaches that appear to be unsolvable until the Nvidia driver and/or a patch comes out. The good news is that there are many people with lower spec systems than mine who are running it well. That makes it seem like a simple compatibility oversight that can be patched easily.
 


Offline SJP

  • The FBI Pays Me to Surf
  • *
  • Posts: 2822
  • Liked: 210
  • Worst...avatar...ever!
Re: Fallout New Vegas help
« Reply #12 on: December 03, 2015, 12:54:00 PM »
So, why doesn't it work?   JUST CAUSE!
 :rimshot:
It my firm belief that that joke has never been done in the history of the world, least of all by Ben Croshaw. ;)
One Man Band Riffs.  18 riffs, over 600 served, since 2009.


Quantum Vagina

  • Guest
Re: Fallout New Vegas help
« Reply #13 on: December 03, 2015, 01:26:25 PM »
Submitted two tickets to Bethesda, no response.


Quantum Vagina

  • Guest
Re: Fallout New Vegas help
« Reply #14 on: December 18, 2015, 03:24:27 PM »
Little update here, Bethesda said that there's a fault with the kernelbase.dll module and that I need to call Microsoft. Microsoft is telling me that "Ive changed my operating system too much in the time I've had it so it's causing the problem to not work." Fucking BULLSHIT. They just don't want to troubleshoot this issue with me.

I had the idea that I should call a local computer parts and repair store, and they told me that from what it sounded like, I just need to reinstall windows, since there seems to be a problem with my system files.
« Last Edit: December 18, 2015, 04:04:26 PM by Lawful_Cupcake »