Author Topic: VODs burned to DVDs question  (Read 1142 times)

Offline Kenneth Morgan

• Blue Beer Drinker
  • Liked:
VODs burned to DVDs question
« on: November 16, 2013, 06:20:23 PM »
I apologize if this is a silly question, but I'm pretty new to the whole VOD thing.

If I download a VOD file and burn it onto a physical DVD, would it be playable on a standard DVD player?  Or could it only be played back on a computer?
-30-

Offline MrTorso

• Global Moderator
  • Liked:
  • What are you gonna do??
    • Big Mean Punk Industries
Re: VODs burned to DVDs question
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2013, 06:39:30 PM »
If you download the ISO file that is provided and you burn it properly, as long as your standard DVD Player plays DVD-Rs it will play like any other DVD you own.  Biggest mistake people make is to burn the ISO image as a "data" file on a DVD-R and that is wrong.

http://www.imgburn.com/ 

is a good image burning tool.

From the FAQ:

Q: I've downloaded the burnable content... what now?

Our download-to-burn content is served as a single .iso file, which is a DVD image that can be readily burned to a DVD! (Note that some of our DVD images require a dual layer burner.)

For Windows users, it should be as simple as dragging the .iso file into your favorite DVD-burning software (note that you'll want to use the "Burn image" option) and clicking the Burn button!

However, If you don't already have image-burning software (such as from Roxio or Nero) download and install the free program ImgBurn (click here to download it from CNET). Then follow the guide to burn the image file to a disc.

Mac OSX users: you can easily use Disk Utility (Finder > Applications > Utilities > Disk Utility) to burn your image. After launching Disk Utility, go to File > Open Disk Image and browse to your downloaded .iso file. (Of course, you can always use Toast or your favorite DVD-burning application.)
« Last Edit: November 16, 2013, 07:09:04 PM by MrTorso »