login

Author Topic: How to be book agent worthy?  (Read 4025 times)

Offline ebeth

• Big Montana
  • Liked: 1
  • Why 9 Gars?
    • Anti-Affirmations
How to be book agent worthy?
« on: April 21, 2008, 03:42:09 PM »
In order to remain sane as a writer I thought I would try to get some feedback from my peeps here on the forum. 

While I am a published writer I am having a horrible time attracting an agent who can whore me out to the right publishers.  I have sent out a bunch of proposals to various agents who represent work that is similar in tone to mine (humor) and so far, in the last year, I have heard back from no one, not even a carefully scripted rejection letter.  I have researched these agents, am familiar with the authors they represent, and have constructed these proposals specifically for each agent.  Am I completely wrong in the way I am going about it?

While I have enjoyed a decent freelance career I am limited I feel in getting my stuff out to the publishers that I like, especially since a lot of them won't accept unagented authors.

Any suggestions or comments would be helpful as I am but one step away from drowning myself in a huge vat of margaritas.

Thanks.

I am not above projectile vomiting to get my way

Offline Fortis

• The FBI Pays Me to Surf
  • I'd just as soon kiss a wookie!
    • Jacob's blog on, life, the universe...everything!
Re: How to be book agent worthy?
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2008, 05:41:11 PM »
ATTRACTING AN AGENT
Two weeks ago, I voiced the opinion that we've reached a point in time where no matter what genre you are writing in, you would do well to get an agent before you shop your novel around to editors.  The truth is that most publishing houses have cut back on editorial staff to the point that they can no longer accept un-agented manuscripts.  In other words, the agents are now in charge of reading through the "slush piles" that editors once handled.