login

Author Topic: OK. Let's talk Lord of the Rings  (Read 6521 times)

Offline Pak-Man

• Global Moderator
  • Liked: 3212
  • Insert $0.25 to Play!
OK. Let's talk Lord of the Rings
« on: October 30, 2006, 04:17:18 PM »
I know there isn't a Lord of the Rings Rifftrax, (And I'll add a hopeful "Yet" here) but since this discussion is invading and slowly dethroning the also-cool Episode 1 discussion, I'm going to make a thread so the Tolkienites can keep the debate going. :^)

I personally think Peter Jackson did a tremendous service for Lord of the Rings. The problem with Tolkien (Hold your fire everyone!) is that he was extremely long-winded. I've dabbled in his writings and I've known all along he was telling a wonderful story, but when you get into the third or forth page of Hobbit tea ceremony outlines, the story starts to lose you. It's a wonderful universe, he's created, and, as a writer, I hope to someday create a universe as vivid, but I couldn't make it through his writing.

Along comes the movies which, through excellent and comeptent direction and acting manages to encapsulate the LOTR books. Now with encapsulation comes sacrifice, and seeing as how they run at 3 hours a pop as-is, I know as I watch that I'm not getting the whole story, but I'm getting enough of the story to understand why it is that so many have vested their time and energy into getting to know middle-earth.

Now I'm not anti-literate by any means. As I mentioned, I'm a writer, and I do a lot of reading as a result, but when certain authors become too bogged down in details, the story starts to suffer. Peter Jackson knew what to cut and how to cut it to tell a beautiful story. And that's what film-making is all about.

Offline Mr`Death

• Sparkles in Sunlight
  • Liked: 0
    • My LA-based comedy theater
Re: OK. Let's talk Lord of the Rings
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2006, 04:22:30 PM »